HOPE Center Director Named 2020 Distinguished Fellow of the History of Economics Society

Bruce Caldwell, the Director of the HOPE Center, has been named the 2020 Distinguished Fellow of the History of Economics Society.

Being named a Distinguished Fellow is the highest honor the society bestows and is given for a lifetime of professional service and scholarly contributions to the history of economics.

As the citation announcing the award attests, Bruce is the world's leading authority on the Austrian school of economics and especially on Friedrich Hayek, who won the Nobel Prize in economics in 1974 and whose Road to Serfdom, which spells out Hayek's concerns about socialism, has achieved popular success. Bruce's 2004 intellectual biography of Hayek, Hayek's Challenge (University of Chicago Press), presents the Austrian economist as a social philosopher whose works deal with not only economics but with psychology, law, and government. Bruce, who is the general editor of The Collected Works of F. A. Hayek (University of Chicago Press), will soon publish a full-scale biograpy of Hayek.

Bruce is not the first Center-affiliated scholar to be named Distinguished Fellow. Others who have received the honor are Neil De Marchi (2016), E. Roy Weintraub (2011), and the late Craufurd Goodwin (1991).

The full citation detailing Bruce's many accomplishments and scholarly contributions can be found on the HES website.

Congratulations, Bruce!